Zinn Fondo

August slipped right out from under me, and I never got around to posting about the Zinn Fondo ride I did earlier this summer. I was told about it the night before (“Yeah, Lennard does a big group ride for his birthday every year”), and had a vague understanding of what the ride would be like (“super long, lots of climbing”), but as we began pedaling up Flagstaff at 6:45am to catch up with the already-departed group of 5 or so, I hadn’t the slightest clue how truly epic (and I hate that word) the day would be. I wouldn’t return to Boulder until well past 8pm that night.

Vitals:

140 miles
20,000 vertical feet of climbing—that’s about 3.8 miles of “up”
Lots o’ gravel

For more, read Chris Case’s wonderful synopsis at VeloNews here.

Oh My God Road (Virginia Canyon, more accurately) was my favorite segment of the 140 miles.

Right: Oh My God Road (Virginia Canyon Road, more accurately) was my favorite segment of the 140 miles. It turned to dirt shortly after where the photo was taken, and connects Idaho Springs to Central City. The short way.

This entry was posted in boulder, cycling, Fun in the Mountains and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

