Aguascalientes, Scratch Race: Part D’oh…s

I didn’t crash.

I didn’t get dead last.

That’s about all the good I can say about my scratch race final tonight. I didn’t have the legs, but raced like I did. Tried to get a move going midway through the 60 lap race, but immediately regretted it. I couldn’t hold the pace necessary to take a lap, and neither could my breakaway companions. So we all came back to the field.

I tried to stay near the front, and it’s a good thing I did, because about 6 or so guys all went down in a big crash.

It was all behind me, so I don’t know how it happened or why (maybe I do know why: what Newt Cole would call “big engine, little rudder” syndrome), but I was thankful to again escape carnage. There were a lot of yellow flags up, and some guys seemed hesitant to pick up the pace, likely because they had a teammate down on the ground and wanted to give them as much time as possible to get a wheel change, pick themselves off the floor, and get back in.

My legs sure crashed. Hard. I couldn’t do anything my brain wanted to do, so I patiently bided my time, hoping i could give it one last go at about 5 to go, if there was ever a lull.

There wasn’t, really, and so I struggled to even maintain my terrible 15th-placed position in the finale. I don’t even know what place I finished, but it wasn’t in the Top 10, and it wasn’t last.

At dinner I read a good quote in a magazine I was reading: You can fail at something the first time, but take credit for trying.

I take full credit, but damn if I don’t want a redo. And maybe knowledge that I would be at this race back in February, so I could have trained better.

Bobby won gold in the pursuit, though he did not set the American record. The women also followed that up with a victory in the team pursuit. So we’ve got two medals, still hoping for a bunch more. I’ve got the points race qualifier in the morning, hoping I can make it and then help Bobby, who will be joining me, to another gold. God knows these legs won’t be able to get a medal themselves. Though stranger things have happened. Should be another fun one.

I’m just continuing to take this all in.

P.S. There’s now a very noticeable scuff on the right side of my shoe. Got pushed into the board, and the shoe was the first contact point.

This entry was posted in bike race, cycling, velodrome and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Aguascalientes, Scratch Race: Part D’oh…s

  1. Kevin says:

    Glad you didn’t crash! Shake off this race and kill it in the PQ this morning!!!!
    GO LIAM GO!!!!

  2. Steven H says:

    Sorry to hear about your shoe. 😦

Leave a Reply

